Locas: The Maggie and Hopey Stories

locas

So while on my summer vacation, I did something that was sort of a challenge: rereading the first collected volume of Jaime Hernandez’ “Locas” story from Love & Rockets from beginning to end. Could I survive this battle of wills with a 700 page omnibus?

Well I did! It might be the heaviest thing that I’ve read all summer, but it was a fun read. I had previously read these stories about a decade ago and I enjoyed getting reacquainted with Hopey, Maggie and the rest of the crew. And I know it’s silly to say, but I think since the last time I visited these characters, I’ve really learned to enjoy them more.

Hopey and Maggie have an interesting relationship, switching tracks from friendship to romantic on and off through the years. And as the story progresses, they change as characters growing older and their life choices  have shaped them. There is a lot of nuance, detail and subtlety in Hernandez’s writing that I didn’t notice the first time I read through his work.

I also like reading this, as you can see how Hernandez evolved both as a writer and as an artist through the series. In the earlier parts of the story, elements of the plot are a lot more absurd, with Maggie being a robotics mechanic and there being dinosaurs. But as everything moves forward, the story becomes more grounded in reality and gets much more enjoyable. And about halfway through, you can tell that Hernandez is visually hitting his stride.

Definitely check this out. By now you all know that my reading taste and habits veer more towards the super hero end of the spectrum, but it’s really nice to branch out to something different. It really is a masterpiece and deserves more attention.

Talk it up!

